Team

Team Presentation – HistoryDirectory

The general objectives of our unit are to increase knowledge about the mechanisms leading to renal diseases, to develop more effective and specific treatments, tools and approaches against progressive renal failure in order to halt the ever-increasing number of people requiring dialysis.
Our research goes beyond the borders of Nephrology because our findings can have an important impact on the general population and may contribute to unravel mechanisms of diseases affecting other organs such as autoimmune diseases, cysts formation, inflammation, fibrosis, alterations of endothelial permeability and vascular reactivity, or tumour progression.

Since the beginning the unit interacts and closely collaborates with the departments of Nephrology, Physiology and Pathology of Tenon Hospital, thus creating a 'school of excellence' of translational nephrology. Pr. Richet's concept of research, which was shared by his successors, was that the scientific objectives of biomedical research should be based on clinical observations and follow the "from bench to the bedside and vice-versa" philosophy. Thanks to this close interaction between basic and clinical research, the unit has excelled since its creation as a training center for researchers and fellows. Among them, 4 became members of the National Academy of Medicine and more than 40 are now Directors of Research or Professors of Medicine in Faculties all over France.

L’Équipe

Présentation de l’équipe – HistoireAnnuaire

Les objectifs généraux de notre unité sont d’accroître les connaissances sur les mécanismes conduisant aux maladies rénales, de développer des traitements, des outils et des approches plus efficaces et spécifiques contre l’insuffisance rénale progressive afin de stopper le nombre toujours croissant de personnes nécessitant une dialyse.
Notre recherche dépasse les frontières de la néphrologie car nos résultats peuvent avoir un impact important sur la population générale et peuvent contribuer à démêler les mécanismes de maladies affectant d’autres organes tels que les maladies auto-immunes, la formation de kystes, l’inflammation, la fibrose, les altérations de la perméabilité endothéliale et la réactivité vasculaire ou progression tumorale.

Depuis le début, l’unité interagit et collabore étroitement avec les départements de néphrologie, physiologie et pathologie de l’hôpital Tenon, créant ainsi une «école d’excellence» de néphrologie translationnelle. Le concept de recherche de Richet, partagé par ses successeurs, était que les objectifs scientifiques de la recherche biomédicale devaient être basés sur des observations cliniques et suivre la philosophie « de la paillasse au lit du patient et vice-versa ». Grâce à cette interaction étroite entre la recherche fondamentale et la recherche clinique, l’unité a excellé depuis sa création en tant que centre de formation pour les chercheurs et les boursiers. Parmi eux, 4 sont devenus membres de l’Académie nationale de médecine et plus de 40 sont aujourd’hui directeurs de recherche ou professeurs de médecine dans les facultés de France.